my love for hockey sport

by

hockey_is_life1

Growing up near Youngstown, Ohio, we never had a lot, but boy did we have fun!  My mom and dad wouldn’t let me play foosball in high school, so I was forced (literally, by my older brother Anthony) into trying out for the hockey team.  As it turns out, I was (and still am, Mike!) great with a puck.  I was a regular Happy Gilmore (if you don’t get that one, you don’t get me).  Within two years, I was the team goalie and also the hockey mascot–I was the school puck.  All of the kids treat me like a toilet and sit on me!  It is like I was on Real World and my name was Puck!  What gives???  By senior year I was the best of the best.  I had been skating and blading, doing jumps, flips, and snips.  My puck-work matched my footwork in terms of excellence of performance.  Simply the best.  But what do you know?  The coach cut me from the team for my muscles being too big.  That is when I decided to go to OSU college and try out for all the sports.  I became the starting quarterback in 1999 and later went back to be Joey Galloway in the mid-’90s.  Things were finally looking up.  I scored a goal in sports and I really scored a goal on the hockey court!  Around this time I met my fiance Debbie.  We get along great!  It is like all the differences between women are moot, because we agree on EVERYTHING!  Like, just today we were not fighting over even a thing and then we saw these great throw pillows and we really just had to have them.  Guess what?  Now we have them!  So one day I’m driving to hockey practice with my bride-to-be and it hits me: I should be doing this professionally.  So I try out for the Columbus Chill.  My tryout goes great.  I am on the team.  Sweet, right?  WRONG.  This was a big time mistake on my part, because the Columbus Chill turned out to be Hilliard Davidson high school’s team.  I am back in high school again and I am almost 30!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ARGHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

to be continued…

One Response to “my love for hockey sport”

  1. Robert Says:

    many thanks to sam craighead for the guest blog.

Leave a Reply

